We decided to take a walk down memory lane today and go into the A.R. Mazzotta blog archives to re-share one of our most popular posts. The topic? CT employment laws on compensation. This post was originally shared in 2013 but it’s updated to reflect the latest CT rules and regulations.
What is Connecticut’s minimum wage?
As of January 2015, Connecticut’s minimum wage is $9.15 per hour.
What does the law say about overtime pay?
You are required to pay 1-1/2 times the employee’s regular rate of pay after he works 40 hours in the same work week. Overtime pay is due for actual hours worked over 40 hours. You’re not required to pay overtime after an employee works 8 hours in a single day, or on a Sunday, or on a holiday, unless it’s specified in an employment agreement.
There are some exceptions regarding overtime pay. Contact A.R. Mazzotta for details or visit the wage and workplace standards section of the CT Department of Labor website.
You are required to pay 1-1/2 times the employee’s regular rate of pay after he works 40 hours in the same work week. Overtime pay is due for actual hours worked over 40 hours.
What kind of pay records do I need to maintain?
You’re required to keep a true and accurate time and wage record for each employee, for a period of three years. Among other things, these records must show:
- The total daily and weekly hours worked – including the beginning and ending time of each work period – computed to the nearest unit of 15 minutes
- Total hourly, daily or weekly basic wage
- Overtime wages, listed as a separate item
- Additions and deductions from wages each pay period
- Total wages paid for each pay period
Do I have to provide vacation or holiday pay?
No. These are fringe benefits provided at your discretion and aren’t required by law.
Am I required to provide sick pay to employees?
CT employers are required to comply with the Paid Sick Leave Act, P.A. 11-52. Click here to download a handy PDF document of the Paid Sick Leave Act.
Do I have to pay employees for rest breaks?
CT law doesn’t require an employer to provide a break. But state law does require the employer to provide a meal period after an employee has worked 7-1/2 or more consecutive hours. Meal period requirements are covered under 31-51ii of the CT State Statutes.
What about temporary workers?
When an A.R. Mazzotta temporary employee works for you, the same general rules apply. As their employer of record, however, we’re responsible for ensuring compliance with state and federal laws for our employees – and that’s one less worry for you.